Virginia Approves State Minimum Wage effective May 1, 2021

Posted by on 4/15/2021 to Virginia
Virginia Approves State Minimum Wage effective May 1, 2021

2021 UPDATES: 

  • 2021 Minimum Wage of $9.50 an hour effective May 1, 2021 (awaiting official notice to be released.)
  • Discrimination Poster (Virginia Human Rights Act) Revised Feb. 2021
  • Pregnant Workers Accommodations - Revised Feb. 2021

Minimum Wage

From May 1, 2021, until January 1, 2022, every employer shall pay, to each of its employees, wages at a rate not less than the greater of (i) $9.50 per hour, or (ii) the federal minimum wage. Upon the release of official posting requirements, they will be included in our state and federal workplace posters.

Tipped Employees

Tips plus wages must now meet Virginia’s minimum wage of $9.50 per hour

Some employees previously exempt may now be covered as eligible employees.

These include:

  • Domestic Service - Services related to the care of an individual in a private home or the maintenance of a pri-vate home or its premises
    • May be on a permanent or temporary basis
    • Includes services such as companions, cooks, waiters, butlers, maids, valets, and chauffeurs
  • Home care providers
  • Babysitters who work more than 10 hours per week

Beginning May 1, 2021, training wages may be increased
The complete training wage regulation is available on the Virginia Town Hall website:

Training Wages:

  • Applies to employees younger than 20 years of age
  • Is restricted to the first 90 days of employment


To help our valued customers comply with these updated posting requirements, Compliance Posters of America have now included both the Discrimination and Pregnancy updates on our current 2021 Virginia & Federal Workplace Poster while the Minimum Wage will be added upon the publication and release of the official notice.

For More Information, please visit :

Got Questions?